Tennessee Rules of the Road
Tennessee rules of the road encompass all laws, regulations and practices that allow for safe driving behavior on the road. It is important for all Tennessee drivers to learn these rules in order to avoid causing an auto accident.
If you or a loved one has been in an auto accident that was caused by a driver who violated Tennessee Rules of the Road, you may be able to recover losses related to the accident. Complete the Free Case Review form on this page to begin exploring your legal options.
Basic Tennessee Rules of the Road
Statistics show that about 50 percent of all motor vehicle accidents happen within 25 miles of the drivers home. By following these basic rules of the road, Tennessee motorists will lessen their likelihood of being involved in an auto accident.
Driving on the Right Side of the Road
Throughout the country, it is mandatory that drivers stay on the right hand side of the road. This includes turning right when going around traffic circles, town squares or roundabouts.
All Tennessee drivers must obey traffic officers, regardless of the circumstances. Sometimes, an officer may instruct drivers to do something that would normally be a violation of traffic regulations. This will happen in emergency situations and is often the only way to keep traffic flow smooth and safe. By disobeying a traffic officer, you may be endangering other drivers sharing the road with you.
Use of Headlights
In Tennessee, your cars headlights must be turned on 30 minutes after sunset and must remain on until 30 minutes before sunrise. Additionally, during the day, your cars headlights must be turned on in the following conditions:
- Any time daylight is not good enough for you to see pedestrians or vehicles 200 feet ahead of your car.
- Anytime you are required to use windshield wipers consistently, whether due to rain, mist, snow or other precipitation.
Basic Speed Rule
Unless otherwise posted, the speed limit on primary and secondary state and federal highways is 55 mph. By Tennessee law, the maximum speed for interstate highways is 70 mph; however, it is important to note that this speed limit does not apply to all sections of the interstate highway system.
It is crucial to judge the speed of other traffic in order to be able to avoid the mistakes of reckless drivers sharing the road with you. Take into consideration factors such as surrounding traffic, including pedestrians, motorcyclists and bicyclists, the surface and width of the road, intersection hazards, weather conditions, visibility and any other condition that could affect your safety while behind the wheel.
Slow drivers are just as likely to be involved in a Tennessee auto accident as speeders. A slow-moving vehicle is any vehicle that is moving 10 mph or more under the legal maximum speed. In Tennessee, it is against the law to drive slower than the posted minimum speed limit under normal driving conditions. If you are driving in inclement weather, through heavy traffic, or on a poorly constructed road, you are allowed to drive slower.
Contact a Tennessee Auto Accident Lawyer
For more information on the legal rights which may be available to auto accident victims who were involved in a collision caused by a driver who violated Tennessee Rules of the Road, complete the Free Case Review form on this page.
If you or a loved one suffered an injury or property damage in a Tennessee auto accident, you may be able to recover losses from medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages related to the collision by filing an auto accident injury claim.
At Greg Coleman Law, our car accident attorneys are dedicated to fighting for the rights of all those who have suffered harm at the hands of another in the state of Tennessee.