What Happens When a Driver Leaves the Scene of an Accident?
By Tennessee law leaving the scene of an accident is a crime. Drivers involved in a motor vehicle collision must stop at the scene or as close to the scene as possible without obstructing traffic.
Being involved in a hit-and-run accident, particularly if you or anyone in your vehicle is injured, can be devastating. Most drivers expect that the individual who caused the collision will remain at the scene however many will flee to avoid taking responsibility for their actions. According to the American Automobile Association (AAA) about 11 percent of all traffic crashes nationwide involve a driver leaving the scene of an accident.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a hit-and-run accident, the victim may be entitled to compensation for property damage, medical expenses, lost wages, and more. Our car crash law firm can help you determine what your legal rights are.
For a no-cost, no-obligation review of your hit-and-run accident claim, fill out the FREE CASE REVIEW form to your right its completely confidential.
What to Do When a Driver Leaves the Scene
Victims of hit-and-run crashes are often left wondering what they can do to protect their rights. One of the first steps to take is to file a police report. It is important to file a police report within 24 hours of the accident, whether it is done from the hospital or the scene of the collision.
A police report helps prove that you were present at the scene and corroborates your claim that the accident occurred and the other driver fled the scene. Furthermore, in order to receive compensation for injuries or property damage a police report will be required.
If you are able to provide adequate information on the other driver and/or vehicle, police may be able to get in contact with driver at-fault. However, the less information you have the less likely it is that any criminal charges will be filed against the culprit.
Should police be unable to track down the assailant, you will need to file a claim with your own insurer to recover compensation for property damage and medical expenses. It is advisable to speak attorney at a car crash law firm to determine what your legal rights if your claim was denied or if you are inadequately compensated.
You may be entitled to file a civil lawsuit against the suspected driver if they are caught and criminally charged. Speaking with an auto accident attorney can help determine if you are entitled to compensation and what steps must be taken to file a lawsuit. An individual may be eligible to receive compensation for property damage, medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and more.
Contact a Knoxville Car Crash Law Firm
At Greg Coleman Law we believe that drivers who leave the scene of an accident should be held accountable for their actions and that their victims deserve justice. Our firm is dedicated to providing comprehensive legal counsel to injury victims through Tennessee and have tried hundreds of jury and bench trials.
With more than 40 years of combined legal experience, our lawyers are well-versed in Tennessee laws and will work hard to get you the compensation you deserve.
Our main office is in Knoxville Tennessee and we are pleased to serve accident injury victims throughout the state. For more information on how we may be able to help you, contact us at 1-800-HURT-NOW. Your initial case consultation is FREE and you dont pay us unless we win your case.
You can also contact us online by filling out the FREE CASE REVIEW form at the top right-hand corner of this page its FREE to submit and strictly confidential.