Seatbelt Fines Have Increased in Tennessee
Posted on behalf of Greg Coleman Law on Jan 12, 2016 in Auto Accident
With the start of the new year, Tennessee is increasing their seatbelt fines. First time offenders that are caught not wearing their seatbelts will pay $25, a $15 increase from last year. The fine for repeat offenders goes from $20 to $50.
Lawmakers hope that this law will encourage more motorists to wear their seatbelts, and reduce the number of car accident fatalities.
Leading Cause of Car Crash Deaths
In 2015 alone, more than 300 fatal car accident victims were not wearing their seatbelts. Unrestrained motorists accounted for 50 percent of all vehicle deaths in Tennessee last year. Statistics show over and over that wearing a seatbelt is the single most effective way to prevent death and injuries in the case of a car crash.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention collected statistics from 2012, and found that 55 percent of teenagers and young adults involved in a car crash were not wearing seatbelts. On average, 18- 34 years olds are far less likely to wear seatbelts than adults 35 years or older.
The study also showed that passengers riding in the rear seats of vehicles were far less likely to wear seatbelts, which not only caused greater injuries to themselves, but endangered the other passengers in the vehicle as well.
The commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security has stated that state troopers have handed more than 107,000 seatbelt citations in 2015. The new Tennessee seatbelt fine took immediate effect on January 1, 2016.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an automobile accident due to another driver's negligence, the Knoxville car accident lawyers at Greg Coleman Law can help you receive the maximum compensation for your loss. Contact an injury lawyer at our law firm today to for a free consultation.