First Tennessee Plaza, 800 S. Gay Street, Suite 1100, Knoxville, TN 37929

Auto Accident Insurance FAQ

Auto insuranceAuto insurance is one of the most essential purchases that the owner and operator of a car, truck, motorcycle, or any other type of vehicle that is driven on the road can make.

While drivers are permitted to obtain a drivers license and to register a vehicle without auto insurance in Tennessee, it's very important to note that no motorist may operate a motor vehicle on any roads, streets, or highways throughout the state without it.

The "Proof of Insurance" certificate that is issued by the drivers insurance company is a way to ensure that, in the event of an accident, the motorist should be able to pay for any damages suffered by the parties involved.

However, if you or someone you love has been involved in an auto accident that was caused by another person and that person is unable to pay for the damages, all is not lost.

Here at Greg Coleman Law, we take pride serving our local Knoxville community, and through our comprehensive legal services, we are able to seek justice and protect the rights of Tennessee drivers that have become victims of an auto-related injury.

For more information, please complete the Free Case Review on this page - it's FREE.

Auto Insurance FAQ

To better service our clients, we have provided a list of auto insurance FAQ below, that covers many of the questions that collision victims ask when they are inquiring about auto accident insurance coverage and liability.

What is the minimum auto liability coverage required by the state of Tennessee?

In Tennessee, a driver is required to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance to ensure that costs will be covered in the event of a crash. The minimum liability coverage for bodily injury to one person is $25,000 and $50,000 for all injuries. In addition, $15,000 of liability coverage is required for property damage.

What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?  Does the law require me to purchase this type of auto insurance?

Auto insurance companies are required by law to offer Uninsured Motorist Coverage when any policy is sold. While drivers are not required to purchase Uninsured Motorist Coverage, it is often suggested to protect Tennessee drivers in cases where a collision occurs with an uninsured, underinsured, or hit-and-run driver.

This type of coverage protects drivers who are injured in these types of crashes, but does not pay for any vehicle damages, which are to be paid for under the drivers collision coverage.

What do I need to carry on me while operating a vehicle in Tennessee?

All motorists in the state are required to carry proof of auto insurance, the minimum liability coverage as stated above, and proof of financial responsibility. With either proof of insurance or financial responsibility, Tennessee drivers are subject to a misdemeanor carrying a $100 fine and suspension of drivers license.

Do I need to purchase extra coverage for Rental Car Insurance?

Generally speaking, most auto insurance policies will cover the expenses of a rental car. In addition, some credit card companies will cover Tennessee rental car insurance as well. Drivers are advised to look into both options prior to paying for a rental car service.

What happens if a Tennessee drivers auto insurance has expired?

When an insurance policy is not renewed or a lapse in renewal occurs, the motorist is considered to be an uninsured driver. The same charges will be applied to a motorist who had auto insurance previously as one who does not have any coverage at all.

Is Tennessee a No Fault state or a Tort state?

A tort system is followed in the state of Tennessee. In this case, when an accident occurs someone will be deemed the at-fault party or the cause of the collision. Whoever is determined to be at-fault will be responsible to pay for all damages.

For this reason, many auto insurance companies will suggest that Tennessee motorists purchase coverage in excess of the minimum.

What happens if my license is suspended or revoked?

If a Tennessee driver losses their license for a period of time, auto insurance companies typically stop coverage for either the individual or the actual car. Often times, the driver with a revoked or suspended license will request that the insurance coverage continues. In these cases, a SR-22 form must be filed to provide auto insurance proof for the individual driver.

How Can An Attorney Help?

Many motor vehicle collisions occur on the roads and highways throughout Tennessee each and every day. When the negligence of another driver causes a crash, at Greg Coleman Law we firmly believe that those irresponsible drivers must be held liable for the damages that they cause.

With this in mind, we provide our clients with a highly detailed knowledge of Tennessee's auto accident laws, and a thorough understanding of the tactics that insurance companies often use on accident victims, which often includes multiple attempts for them to pay less than an amount that will adequately cover damages that have been incurred.

At our firm, we can provide you with the confidence that your best interests are being represented, and the knowledge to guide you safely through the personal injury litigation process.

We offer 100% FREE initial case reviews for our clients, which allow our customers to submit the details of their incident, which our attorneys will then review for free, to help determine if there are grounds to file a lawsuit. If so, we will then advise you on the best way to move forward with the litigation.

Need Help? Contact Our Knoxville Auto Insurance Lawyer Today

If you or a loved one has suffered from a car crash, our personal injury attorneys are here to help. With years of experience in litigation, here at Greg Coleman Law we understand what it means to build a successful case, and to fight for the MAXIMUM compensation amount for our clients.

To learn more, contact us today at (865) 247-0080. Our main office is located in Knoxville, and we proudly provide comprehensive legal counsel to injury victims throughout Knox County, including:

  • Arlington
  • Burlington
  • Deane Hill
  • Lake Forest
  • Mascot
  • North Hills
  • Park City
  • Smithwood
  • West View
  • Windsor Park

.... and many others.

With more than 100 jury trials, we have the determination and experience to handle your injury litigation, and will pursue a fair and just settlement for your injury claim.

To start immediately, simply fill out the "Free Case Review" form on this page.

back to top